[outfit post] Who’s That Girl?

I had a pitch today, so technically this wasn’t a “casual Friday.”  The brand, though, was fun and a little girly, so I took that as an excuse to dress up a little.  

I got this Susto The Label dress because the print reminded me, somehow, of Corona (Rapunzel’s kingdom in Tangled), even if it is a darker purple.  With its wide, collared neck and striking color combination, it feels very “vintage,” somehow. Like something you’d find at the bottom of your Mom’s baul from the 70s, the decades giving the psychedelic colors a faded patina. (Attack of the random, pretentious polysyllable!)

It was only after I’d put on my makeup and had my hair done that I realized I looked…oddly familiar.  Like a hipster sitcom character, but which one and from what show I didn’t know.  I guess there’s always someone who dresses like this in shows these days: a high-strung, type-A, manic-pixie twirling in thrift-store skirts the color of a Wes Anderson movie.  Taylor Swift used to dress like this, I think, before her relationship with Calvin Harris started heading for the rocks.  If I had bangs, I might also have passed for the second or third coming of Zooey Deschanel.  

Or Rachel Berry.  

Or Kara Danvers when she’s not being Supergirl. 


Archetypes repeat, I guess.  Much like styles do.  Still, I can’t quite shake the feeling that this look is a face with a name…I’m just not sure what that name is.

Think you can hazard a guess?  Drop me a hint in the comments.

This outfit is proudly 80% local. Both dress and cardigan come from Filipino brands.

Dress: Susto The Label
Cardigan: Piña
Belt: Uniqlo
Shoes: Rubi

~aRT~

3 comments

Leave a Reply

