[randomness] Songwriter’s Notebook: The Sara Bareilles Method of Writing a “Love Song.”

This month, I’ve been trying to level up my songwriting beyond reliance on collaboration. The exercise has been difficult, but I think I’ve hit upon a formula. Or, rather, adapted a formula from my favorite artist. Let me share with you, now, the Sara Bareilles process of how to write sad/angry/desperate love songs without actually being in love with someone:

1. Have a long-time creative partner.

2. Have creative tension–manageable and almost productive at first.

3. Allow tension to mount and relationship to fray.

4. Reach a platonic version of “Love on the Rocks.” (Badumtss.)

5. Write creative partner a Love Song. (Double badumtss.)

BONUS: If said Love Song proves unable to move creative partner, and they appear to remain dissatisfied with you, consider giving them “Manhattan.” 

“You can have Manhattan…I’ll tiptoe away so you won’t have to say you heard me leave.”

If they still don’t get that the song is about them…you’re on your own. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

~aRT~

Leave a Reply

