The Friday, Currently 009: Another Little Blog (with links!)

It’s one of those weeks where the sea is so eerily calm that you know a storm must be coming.

Doomsday predictions aside, after the morass of last week’s revelations, this week has been relatively quiet.  Which, of course, has forced me to fill the void with things like calligraphy, compulsive mascara application, and fretting.  Mostly fretting.  In fact, I fret so much that I nearly forgot today was Friday and I had a blog “due.”

Ladies and gentlemen, though I do have some things I’m thinking about, there will be no great depths of introspection today.  Rather, I am C U R R E N T L Y…

R E A D I N G  The Red Leather Diary, still.  Most of my week has been taken up by long-form articles, calligraphy-work, and wading through stray thoughts.

IMG_9038

Photo (c) Mikko Peña

Speaking of articles, Hideaway‘s official media partner, Seiri Mag, posted a recap of Hideaway here.  The event was absolutely amazing, and thank you so so so so so much to all the cool people who participated!  For those who didn’t make it, check the article out and we’ll see you in August!

W R I T I N G  a ton of calligraphy work.  Marvs and I got “back together” as NOT TOGETHER last Saturday at the Zig Pen Meet in Shangri-la, where I hoarded a ton of pens and got started on a new IG account you all can follow: @theclumsycalligrapher.

Speaking of musical acts, I have also been writing songs, what with Elements Songwriting Camp being on the horizon.  Not a lot of progress yet on the supposedly-forthcoming The Elinor Project EP or Stories Told stuff, but there was something.  Last weekend was probably not the best time to be active on Facebook, what with the SCOTUS decision turning my newsfeed into a battlefield.  I was tempted to add my own acerbic thoughts to the mix, but instead, me and a Kids Church bro of mine, Alvin Peliño, wrote this:

L I S T E N I N G  to ASMR videos again–my go-to chillout playlist.  Also, I went on a nostalgia trip yesterday, hunting for the opening and ending songs of anime I used to watch.  Spent most of that time playing the Chobits theme over and over while bobbing up and down in kilig. (Oh animé, what unrealistic expectations of love and romance you’ve give me.)

Take a listen, if you haven’t heard it yet. You might find yourself bobbing up and down as well.

W A T C H I N G The Whispers still…suitably creepy despite the alien-infused storyline.  Also, I’ve started watching the very irreverent yet incisively funny Another Period by Comedy Central.  Only two episodes up so far, but both are absolutely ridiculous and promise a lot of fun.

F E E L I N G  sleepy.  I have an early day tomorrow so I’m going to be needing to catch some Zzs soon.

S M E L L I N G  my calamansi-ginger juice.  Detox drinks.  Whee.

W E A R I N G  an SM Classics blue blazer, SM Department Store white spaghetti-strap chiffon top, Topshop skinny slacks, and Via Vennetto heels–pitch wear, basically.

L O V I N G…

1. My new Estée Lauder Sumptuous Bold Volume Lifting Mascara, which I bought through my officemate whose parents had just gotten back from Canada.  (Thanks so much, Nike!)  The formula is not waterproof, but unless you’ve got heavy-duty crying on your schedule, that shouldn’t be too much of a problem.  My lashes look almost aggressively long, and thanks to the old business card trick, curl up without me resorting to torture implements.

2. Paul Soriano and Toni Gonzaga‘s wedding video.  It’s the kind of story that makes you believe in love, and as a believer in True Love Waits, Paul and Toni’s very public commitment to boundaries and purity–over the course of EIGHT YEARS–only adds to the appeal.  He looks so in love with her, and she looks so happy…I won’t even bother describing it.  Watch it for yourself.

Paul Soriano and Celestine Gonzaga – Soriano | 6.12.15 from TEN17P on Vimeo.

Also, the Kids Church Music Team people did a cover of one of the songs that is featured on the video: Touch The Sky by Hillsong United.  These are far from perfect covers, but I’mma put them up on anyway so you can hear what we sound like when we all sing together.

W A N T I N G  to go home and get into my PJs.  Traffic has been more than a little insane lately, meaning I get picked up late from work more often than not.

N E E D I N G  energy.  Or potato chips.  Or both.

W I S H I N G, or rather wondering, I would get into Elements Music Camp without incident.  Emphasis, really, on without incident.

T H I N K I N G that this has been exactly what I promised in issue 008 of The Friday, Currently: something short, inconsequential, and free of feels.  Who knows if next week will bring about another turnaround?

Until then, though, I remain, yours very sincerely…

~ARoamingTsinay~

The Sunday Currently was created by Siddathornton. I’ve added/subtracted categories for the sake of the narrative, and also because I’m copying the format of NothingSpaces.com.

Leave a Reply

