The Friday, Currently 007: Big Week, Little Blog (Or, This One Really Has to Be Short)

The long and short of why this is going to be a big week(end):

ST GIG SCHED (1)

Happening tonight.

poster_02

Happening tomorrow night.

…and Sunday just happens to be my last ever SoJ boarding. Taking the airwaves for this last run as #TeamBoniTor, a.k.a. Daenerys Bonifacio and Sansa Torres, a.k.a. me and my office BFF/radio BFF Dani.

10458452_10152860300621167_88056474866962439_n

This is us.

Considering the amount of stuff happening this weekend, I very nearly posted a “There will be no ‘Currently’ this week, sorry guys!” announcement.  Except I knew that if I broke momentum, just onceeven for good reasonI might never blog again.

Okay, gross exaggeration, but I have a habit of not finishing what I start (*coughMeAndMyListscough*) so I decided to try and beat the time crunch with this weeks The Friday Currently, Issue 007 (*cue James Bond theme*).  So here we are.  It is Friday, and I am C U R R E N T L Y…

R E A D I N G Mansfield Park by Jane Austen, mostly because I couldn’t find my copy of Emma.  I actually didn’t like Mansfield Park the first time I read it, but I’ve read it once more since and I admit Fanny’s begun to grow on me (though I will always want to slap Edmund silly).  This is my third time reading it, and I suppose it helps if I visualize Benedict Cumberbatch and David Tennant as the brothers Bertram.

Also, an update on A Tree Grows in Brooklyn: I’VE FINISHED!  It was just as beautiful as expected, with Francie Nolan’s story concluding on a lovely, cyclical note.  I won’t say more, lest spoilers, but I do encourage everyone to pick up a copy.

W R I T I N G  more journal entries, lately.  It’s been my way of keeping sane.  I was supposed to write a new poem for Hideaway, but wasn’t able to find time so I think I’m going to end up doing “A Score is A Girl” or “#YesAllWomen” instead.  That and a #hugot poem, of course.

L I S T E N I N G  to a lot of Planetshakers lately, thanks to the Kids Church selections for the month.  Sometimes it weirds me out when CCM (contemporary Christian music, for the uninitiated) meets EDM…but sometimes it sounds pretty awesome.  The Planetshakers Endless Praise album is one of the examples of the latter, as is anything by Hillsong Young and Free.  What is it with these Australians and fantastic music?

On an unrelated note, song-marathoned Panic! At The Disco yesterday, focusing mostly their “Pretty. Odd.” album.  My favorite songs off of that have to be Northern Downpour and When The Day Met The Night.  Sort of wish ST was a folk-rock outfit sometimes, because I’d like to cover those songs.

W A T C H I N G …nothing much?  Busy week has meant there hasn’t been much time for visual stimulation.

F E E L I N G  a mix of excitement, terror, and “can-this-all-be-over-yet” that usually accompanies a semi-eventful weekend.  I’ll admit I’m more than a bit nervous about my set at Mow’s tonight, considering it’s going to be 1) very very late and 2) at MOW’S.

…not to mention the ache I’ve probably worried into the back of my neck thanks to Hideaway.  *sigh*  Will I ever find chill?

S M E L L I N G  my Aveeno Pure Renewal dry shampoo because I’ve basically doused my head in it.

W E A R I N G  a while Uniqlo button-up, my worn black Topshop skinnies, Sam Edelman heels from Nordstrom, black Zara belt, and a leather moto jacket from Topshop.  Basically my version of “casual Friday” this week.

L O V I N G  the extremely weird lyrics of Panic! At The Disco, that manage to make absolutely no sense and yet emotionally deliver tons of meaning.  I probably wouldn’t take them as a lyrical peg (because it doesn’t work with my stuff), but I can admire the wordplay nonetheless.

Also, not necessarily loving but really liking the song Ed Sheeran wrote for Hilary Duff: Tattoo.  Spotify-search it if you want to listen, or Youtube the live acoustic backyard session.

W A N T I N G  a little breathing room.

N E E D I N G  a back massage, TBH.

W I S H I N G  my voice won’t sound completely tormented later!  I’ve been a tad hoarse lately.  PLEASE NOT THE NODES COMING BACK.

T H I N K I N G  that I actually have a ton to say because more than my jam-packed weekend, a lot of stuff has actually happened…but I really don’t have the time to write it all down, and by next week I might have forgotten it all.  I guess it will just have to remain a mystery?

(Although, quickie update: I’m not into anymore.  About time!)

That is LEGITIMATELY it for this week’s Friday, Currently.  I remain, your frenetic voice on the internet, the hyperactive…

~ARoamingTsinay~

The Sunday Currently was created by Siddathornton. I’ve added/subtracted categories for the sake of the narrative, and also because I’m copying the format of NothingSpaces.com.

Leave a Reply

