[poetry] #TellMeYourSecrets: Truth (I Lied)

DISCLAIMER: The feelings are real.  The intensity is artistic license.

The tiny lies you tell someone you like?
They never used to bother me before.
But when you’re in front of me, I feel I should be
a window, transparent; not a funhouse mirror
twisting truth then throwing it back.
So here goes.
I took your photo because I wanted it,
because I needed to prove you existed
to me; even with our age gap,
and the so-called elephants.
I lied, because with you I have no defense.
My honesty has always lacked in common sense 
and my best weapon, banter?
Useless because you render me un-clever,
and that bothers me. Because I am clever.
My words are famous for their teeth,
but around you, they’re more like veneers:
all for show. 
The more I know–
the more I’m around you–
the more I’m learning to find that sense of gravity.  
But sometimes, when I’m not careful,
you can still pull the floor out from under me.
Those are the times I lie, but lie waiting
for you to see through to the truth.
Because you say you see me, 
and that’s why…

the tiny lies you tell someone you like?
They never used to bother me before.
Before you.
fin

~aRoamingTsinayWrites~


Leave a Reply

