[outfit post] Skirt Bloggers Wear

IMG_8499

Me, working that “fashion blogger pose.”

I am not a fashion blogger.  Obviously.  (See my lazy-day, “The Girl Can’t Help It” post for proof.)  However, I have recently discovered the secret to appearing just like one.

Own a leather skater skirt.

According to the Tumblog S**t Bloggers Wear (pardon my French), which has made it a mission to point out common fashion items that bloggers, well, wearevery fashion blogger on the planet owns at least one of these faux-leather skater-minis, usually in black but occasionally in another “fashion” hue such as sable or oxblood (brown and red, for the uninitiated).

Don’t believe me?  Check out this Pinterest board.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 10.05.28 AM

Screenshot for your convenience.  Also, in case you were wondering, I do own the other blogger (and Taylor Swift) staple featured here: a striped, bateau-neck  3/4th-sleeve top.

Seeing as I am not a fashion blogger, I had to wonder at the psychology behind why female fashion bloggers (and blogger wannabes) crave this skirt as a closet staple.  To get the answer, I asked the only fashion blogger who would speak to me, my friend Arra Abella of Style Reader.

Her response.  “Uhm…it’s easy to match with things?”

I would have to agree.  Despite the “unconventional” fabric (leather traditionally is associated with more figure-hugging silhouettes), a leather skater is a relatively blank canvas.  Plus, being faux-leather (ergo probably vinyl or polyurethane), it has give, which is very forgiving when you have a less-than-fashion-blogger-skinny body.

IMG_8505

Baseball tee: UA&P Merchandising Committee
Skirt: Topshop (which is probably where a lot of those bloggers got it)
Boots: Forever 21
Lipstick: Maybelline + Labels Manila (Wet n’ Wild)

IMG_8506

I call this “The Ariana Grande.”  Because hair.  Also, Helen is judging me.

Today’s look with this skirt was inspired by the cheerleader I’ll never be + Lady Gaga from Todrick Hall’s Pop Star High. The t-shirt is one of the first releases of UA&P Merch Comm, established when my batch took it over.  I love the baseball silhouette because it both emphasizes and softens my broad shoulders.  Tucked in, it also blouson-s out just right to give the illusion of a narrower waist.

IMG_8509

 Goth cheerleader reppin’!

IMG_8511

Because skater skirts are so versatile, I can easily go into lazy mode by shifting out my platform boots for slouchy sneaks.  The only real downside of this look, really, is that I can’t wear it every day. :))

IMG_8514

I’m finally a fashion blogger!  YAY!

~ARoamingTsinay~

One comment

Leave a Reply

