[Poetry] Celeste

For F., from F.

~*~

Tonight, I set my world on fire.

I peel off layer after layer
of the girl left behind
until, underneath,
it is new skin, new growth.

When you were with me,
I could not be elsewhere.
Now, I bleed to barren bones
the map of all I remember.

I refused to be crippled,
beat to death with my crutches,
the temptation to run back,
instead of walk away.

If you gave me a chance,
I know I would take it.
so I cut off my chances,
and out my pale-blue heart.

Set map, skin, heart on a pyre,
with my loss and desire,
and out of the ashes,
I start over again.

Tonight, I set my world on fire.

Fin.

~*~

Quick note: Like my poem “Sophia,” the title has a non-traditional pronunciation.  In this case, it’s “che-les-te,” after the Italian.  Lines of the poem were “found” on Twitter, then altered to “fit” the poem.

Leave a Reply

