[beauty blog] Project Redhead: Stealth Ginger No More!

A picture is supposedly worth a thousand words.  Here’s two.

Image

 Before: My “Cheer Up Emo Kid” look post-Christmas, with my original, born-this-way, hair color.

Image

After: Post-Valentines, Post-Project Redhead Implementation, complete with three-week fade.  Taken a few hours ago.

As you can see, I am now…kind of a ginger.  In some lights, it’s glaringly (and I mean glaringly obvious), and by obvious, I mean orange.

Image

Image…sort of.

In the words of my good friend Yua Valenton, my hair color is techically closer to “some kind of nut,” with a strong orange-y cast, or so (HRH) Rashmi tells me.  Technicalities aside though, my hair is definitely a different color than it used to be, and that color is most assuredly closer to red compared to what it used to be.  It’s not Sea of Shoes-ginger, true, nor is it Amy Pond, but it’s close enough that I feel justified in captioning some of my photos with the hashtag #PondLife.

In short: I quite like my new hair.

Okay, some nitty-gritty details.  Unlike my original plans–truth be told, very few of my original plans actually got implemented–I did not wait until graduation to get my hair done.  My mum caved on Valentines Day, during our mother-daughter bonding/psychological therapy session (bonding for her, therapy for me).  I ended up choosing Hairshaft Salon in Podium, on the recommendation of my friend Annika, and my color-change was supervised by their senior stylist, Mr. Miguel, and assisted by Mr. Ralph.

ImageImageImage

Photographed: The process of lifting the color for my highlights

Unlike the Guy Tang balayage that I’d researched, Mr. Miguel had his own process, which consisted of lightening certain strands of my hair  while coloring the base a slightly more warm, coffee-to-cinnamon hue, before putting the red shade all over everything, resulting in coppery highlights over a vaguely auburn, vaguely cinnamon–I will persist in Yua’s description of “some kind of nut”–base.  The whole process took about four hours.

Salon Survival Tip: BRING A BOOK.

The process would have taken longer if I had sprung for the digital perm before the dyeing process, but I decided that my perm-trauma was still too strong, and decided not to subject my hair to any more punishment.  For now, I am content with putting my hair up in a bun or else using my curling iron to achieve those loose, Amy Pond-esque waves.

The color itself, just to give a quick background, came from two sources:

Image

Base color.

Image

Highlights

So there you have it.  My magical redhead transformation.  Of course, this isn’t the end of Project Redhead as we know it.  Since I’m still not a full redhead yet, there’s still a ways to go.  Next move: henna.

When?  You’ll see.

~ARoamingTsinay~

One comment

Leave a Reply

