[beauty blog] The make-up girl scout: Inside my ‘kikay’ kit.

frankie's kikay kit

Finally got my NARS products today!

Surprise surprise, I ended up buying the NARS Limited Edition Fairy’s Kiss Eyeshadow Palette; the Velvet Lip Pencil in, obviously Dragon Girl; and The Multiple in NARS’ signature Orgasm shade.  I also finally transferred my freebies from the Rustan’s event to my kikay kit: NARS’ Radiance Enhancing Pro-Prime Light Optimizing Primer and an adorably tiny vial of NARS Sheer Matte Foundation to go with it.  Thankfully, NARS’ packaging is nice and compact, so all of it manages to fit in my cosmetics pouch (scored cheap at South Supermarket before I headed to Brazil last summer).

Actually, barring the NARS stuff, a lot of what is currently inside this most recent iteration of my kikay kit (I’ve had several, and they’re all lying around the house somewhere, waiting for me to tap into them for events/photoshoots/theatre emergencies.) was purchased either just before I left for Brazil, while I was in Brazil, or in the CVX in Grand Central Station during my trip to NYC just after I left Brazil.  It’s both the smallest makeup pack I’ve kept and also the most versatile…although maybe that’s just because I don’t really need to do much to shift looks for day/night/casual/corporate/etcetera.  Full disclosure: as much as I love playing with makeup…I don’t actually wear a whole lot of it all that often, though you wouldn’t be able to tell from the number of products I carry around with me.

Still, despite not walking about with a full face of cosmetics every day (something that may have to change once I hit the working world), I always find it best to be prepared, whether for a spur-of-the-moment decision to paint my face; an impromptu photoshoot for a school project (since third year I’ve been having my fair share of those); a job interview; or the occasional rapid-fire, change-in-the-backseat-of-the-car shift from school self to events self.  Which is why, I guess, I have so many products in my “daily” kit: I’m a bit of a beauty girl scout.

That being said, here are the products that have helped me earn my merit badges.

Face:

I used to use BB Cream a lot, but somehow I think it was made for drier skin than mine…it always tends to feel oily and heavy on the face about mid-day.  What proved a better alternative was Benefit Cosmetics‘ Some Kind-a Gorgeous “foundation faker”–this creamy base that blends into a fine powder when swiped on skin.  A little of it goes a long way.  I’m using the medium shade (which is weird for me; I used to always buy the lightest shade of any powder/foundation), and it “melts” really well into my face, preventing the usual “flattened” look foundations usually give.  I generally pair it up with Benefit’s The Pore-Fessional, which is this pore-minimizing primer that’s great for midday touch-ups as well.  I’ve only got a tiiiiiny tube because I got them as part of the Primping With The Stars set, so I generally only put it on my t-zone, but even then it helps keep my face from getting too shiny throughout the day.  And just in case my zits get too obvious, I spot-correct with a Revlon ColorStay Blemish Concealer in Light/Medium.

In terms of bronzer/luminizers, I use e.l.f. Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder.  It’s the biggest thing in my kit, but considering it’s “budget” makeup it’s also really big on performance.  The blush is a peach-y sort of shade that works great with any skin tone, and the bronzer also blends really well.  For shortcut contouring though (because I don’t always have time to fill in all those desired hollows), I use Benefit Girl Meets Pearl luminizer, and just apply it to the bones of my face (what few bones I have, anyway) to make them stand out more.  It’s also really great for hiding the fact that I’ve been pulling all-nighters since August.

Eyes

They say that Asians spend more on eye makeup than any other country in the world, and this may be true.  In my case, I splurge a lot on liner, because I’m such a huge fan of the swoopy, vintage cat-eye look.  My best bet has to be the L’oreal Super Liner Carbon Gloss, which glides on for a sharp, eye-widening look, but for more casual occasions I use Maybelline Unstoppable Eyeliner in Cinnabar or my trusty Revlon Beyond Natural Defining Eye Pencil in Dark Brown.  Also, because I’m a Michelle Phan disciple, I’ve got white eyeliner–a Missha cosmetics find I scored during a trip to South Korea.  For the final touch, I use Benefit “They’re Real” Mascara–arguably the best lengthening/volumizing mascara I’ve ever used.  A few quick swipes and I’m instantly doll-eyed!

Eyeshadow wise, aside from my new NARS palette, I’ve also got Maybelline EyeStudio Color Tattoo in Bold Gold.  It claims to stay on for twenty-four hours unless washed, and so far the claims have been true: it goes on as a gel, and dries as a slick, latex-shiny second skin over your eyelid.  The only issue is that, since it’s a gel finish, layering other products on to it can be a bit challenging, so I tend to use it solo, with just my liner.  If I do decide to use other shadows, I first layer on some of Benefit Stay Don’t Stray Eye Primer so the colors really pop.

Finally, for my brows, I use Maybelline Brow Crayon…the name’s rubbed off, but it was released in conjunction with the “Master Liner” series of crayon eyeliners.  I use a sort of medium-brown hue that isn’t exactly three shades lighter than my actual hair, but it’s good for filling my sparse brows in.  Quick tip, though: my e.l.f. bronzer also does the trick.

Lip/Cheek

I have to lump lip and cheek together because my favorite product just happens to be a lip-and-cheek stain.  Benefit BeneTint is one of those legendary products that a girl’s got to get her hands on, at least once, and I did as part of the Primping With The Stars kit I got before I left for Brazil.  It’s a small vial, to be sure, but it goes a long way, especially since just a drop is enough to deliver a natural-looking flush to cheeks and lips.  Usually, it’s all the color I need, but in case I need more drama, I layer on a lipgloss from Brazilian brand Vult, in my favorite dark cherry shade.  When I’m really lazy though–meaning all I wear is lip color–I use Maybelline Baby Lips, which is this sweet tinted balm that is usually enough to make sure I don’t look anemic.

Other Essentials

Make-up brushes from Watson’s.  Hair-ties and a Goody clip for when it gets too hot to wear my hair down.  Mirror compact.  Spare contact lens case, in case I have to overnight somewhere.  Eye pencil sharpener (big and small head).  Sometimes I even cram my meds in the case.  Surprisingly, it all manages to fit.

So there you have it: the go-to contents of my make-up case, now with their new NARS additions.  Hope you guys enjoyed taking a peek, and I’ll try to come back next week with more of the How To Grow Up series!  For now though…I have International Economics to conquer.  *sigh*

~ARoamingTsinay~

4 comments

Leave a Reply

