Forbes.com – The Innovation Curriculum: STEM, STEAM Or SEA?

Forbes.com – The Innovation Curriculum: STEM, STEAM Or SEA?

Being the soon-to-be holder of a liberal arts degree myself (AB Humanities, to be exact; I’m in a double-degree program so I also graduate with an MS in Management), I’m usually asked–mostly on Ask.FM–what advantages all those extra units in arts, literature, philosophy, history, politics, and economics are worth in the long run, especially considering my competition has received more ‘specialized education.’

This Forbes.com article hits the nail on the head by explaining the advantages of mainlining Liberal Arts as part of the curriculum, instead of making it an afterthought.  Personally, I think that even primary and secondary education should prioritize subjects other than the usual math/science derivatives.  Then, technically, we wouldn’t have to make them part of university education, as they’d already been covered in the lower levels.  Since the Philippines has shifted to K-12, adding two extra years, perhaps the time is ripe to add more of these trivium and quadrivium subjects?

~ARoamingTsinay~

2 comments

  1. Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m
    having a hard time making a decision between
    BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is
    because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

Leave a Reply

