The one where I see how the other half lives

I’ll keep this brief. It’s been a while since I’ve event-blogged–honestly, this roaming Tsinay is admittedly a bit more of a travel-junkie than a party girl–but when the lovely people of Globe Platinum offered the invitation to attend the launch of Hola! Philippines, the local version of Spain’s Hola! and the UK’s Hello!, I decided a night out with my glamorous Maman (the actual owner of the Globe plan) would be fun.

The attire was supposedly “cocktail,”but apparently cocktail for the “Hello!” set translates to full evening wear for the rest of us. I haven’t seen such a proliferation of feathers and sequins since Philippine Fashion Week. (It’s likely some of the outfits were straight off the runways.)

20130905-223022.jpg

Solenn Heusaff, singing “Fever.”

20130905-223008.jpg

20130905-223034.jpg

Me + Maman at the Globe Platinum Lounge.

20130905-223053.jpg

Who’s who getting interviewed at the Hola! red carpet.

Mum and I obviously didn’t know anyone, though I did bump in to an old (well, young) contact from my blogger life, Mr. Edryan Lorenzo, PR/Marketing/Events genius. Played catch up for a bit, but the program (hosted by rising starlet Solenn Heusaff, dressed in a glittery, feathered confection of slinky white and sheer lace) was quite short, and both Sir Ed and I (and Mum) didn’t stick around long after–he had work in the morning, and I have vocal therapy.

20130905-223044.jpg

All in all, it was a fun event. The food was delicious and the program was short-but-sweet. Audi was one of the sponsors, and I was hoping there would be a raffle, but sadly…no dice. (Not that I could actually drive the bloody thing if I’d won anyway.) Mum and I did get to take home the premiere issue of Hola! Philippines though, looking very much like its Spanish and British counterparts.

20130905-223109.jpg

20130905-223102.jpg

(Top: Ballet leotard; Skirt: Amelia et Nicole; Belt & Bag: Mum’s vintage stuff from Hong Kong; Shoes: M&S)

Ending this post with the obligatory #ootd. Huge thanks to Globe for making my evening, and allowing me to get a sneak peek at how the other half lives…without having to steal pork barrel to get it!

And that ends Lonelygirl’s luxe-life adventure! See you all back in the real world!

~aRoamingTsinay~

Leave a Reply

