I’m not in love; it’s just makeup

After late nights writing for my When In Manila blogging job (I’m ba-ack!) and for a super-secret book project I’m technically not supposed to be mentioning (hehe), I am no stranger to tricks on how to stay awake.  I’ve tried apples, coffee, bread, and chocolate–goodbye my summer weight loss caused by weeks of training for the indie martial arts flick, Two Wolves–but none have worked quite so well as my current obsession…
Late-night makeovers.

Yep, you read me right: to keep awake, I doll myself up.  Why?  In the words of Chris from Shish Happens: “It’s cute, and creative.  It gives me…inspiration.”  Since both the fictional Chris and the factual moi are writers beating deadlines, I figure I’m justified in the quoting.  Putting on a prettier face apparently gives me more energy to get through the long and sleepless nights.
So, without further ado, here are three looks I’ve sported whilst letting my fingers fly over the keyboard.
Inspired by Lily Collins in the Snow White-reboot Mirror Mirror, this looks sports the thickened brow (not by much, I know) and bold lip of the movie poster, though yes, I know it’s a week parallel–I’m not that good at makeup.

Eschewing my signature bold lip for a simpler, sweeter take, this minimalist look is all pink and pretty with a slight white shine around the eyes, and a pinched-pink cheek.  (The French on top means “Like Candy.”)

Though Lady Gaga is known for wilder makeup, I’ve toned down a few of her signatures–thick, winged liner; beauty spot; defined brow; bold lip–for something you can wear daily.  
The products used in the makeovers are a mix of the following:
Watercolors Brow Powder in “Blonde”
Laura Geller Blush in “Roseberry”
NYX Lip Smacking Fun Colors in “Iconic”
Maybelline Colorsensational Lipstick in “Summer Sunset”
Wet n’ Wild Eyeshadow Trio in “Sweet Like Candy”
Wet n’ Wild Coloricon Brow and Eye Liner in “Black Black / Noir Noir”
L’Oreal Super Liner Carbon Gloss
…And if you’re wondering about the pearl tiara-headband, that’s from Dam Good Stuff, my favorite jewelry store. 🙂

So there you have it: my newest wake-up drug is makeup.  It’s a bit weird, I know, but then again it’s also an opportunity to practice what I might use when people actually see me.  Still, I think it’s working too well–I’m done working and I’m still up and blogging this!

Oh well, off to bed! ❤

~ NC

(Oh, and by the way, if you’re wondering what the heck Shish Happens is, it’s a play, and you can catch it sometime in June for UA&P-ViARE.  Exact date is TBA.  It’s directed–for the second time running–by ViARE’s amazing Luis Mendez, and starring Jam Alas, Nicolas Espinoza, Renzo Valmonte, and Mae Bautista.)
Leave a Reply

