My New Baby: CANON Powershot G12

After three years of loyal service, my CANON Powershot/IXUS (bought abroad, it carries the label “Powershot,” but locally it is labelled an IXUS) has finally decided to die.  The cause of death is a combination of LCD pixel death and optical zoom focus malfunction.  To remedy these problems would have cost me over Php. 7,000, which is more or less the same price as one of the lowest-level Powershots of an even higher megapixel range.
Despite the sentimental value of my camera–it was my dad’s, and he passed it on to me as a graduation gift–I figured it would be more practical to trade it in for a new camera, and avail of a 15% discount.  So I did, upgrading my 8.0 megapixel IXUS to…
A 10.0 megapixel Canon Powershot G12.  I’d been eyeing this prosumer-grade digital camera for a couple of months now, having gotten recommendations from a few friends who were photography enthusiasts.  As an aspiring photographer myself, the G12 is a perfect fit, offering an “idiot proof” DSLR experience.  As the staff of Canon Philippines were apt to tell me, the G12 has all the functionality of their EOS series, minus the ability to change lenses.
Of course, I can’t be completely sure of this until I’ve played with the camera a little, but from the looks of the initial shots I’ve taken (of myself, who else), the claim seems pretty sound.  I can already a see a marked difference in shots taken with my old camera and with the Powershot G12.
Taken with my old IXUS.
Taken with my new Powershot G12.
(Forgive the messy hair: I’ve been having a rather stressful day.)
Currently, I’ve been taking test shots in its “Auto” mode, which adjusts settings for you using the camera’s many sensors, but I also managed to toy with the completely Manual setting and while I don’t understand half the terms yet, tinkering with the settings has proved quite interesting.  My favorite feature has to be the ability to adjust how much light I let into the camera (Isn’t that called aperture?  I’m not sure yet.), and the adjustable flash brightness.  I’ve only had it a few hours and already I’m doubting I’ll every really need the Canon EOS 550D I’ve been eyeing…even if the catalogue is offering a really good deal with the kit lens I want.
The Canon Powershot G12 has a price tag of Php. 31,950, but if you get it straight from Canon Philippines‘ service centers, you can get a 15% discount if you trade in an old camera for it, or for any Canon digital camera.  (This goes for all digital cameras, but not EOS cameras–by my understanding you’ll have to trade in another EOS to get a discount on a new EOS camera, though the discount may be bigger than 15%, I’m not sure.)  In fact, my mom plans to trade in our ancient Canon IXUS 500 for one of the newer models, probably the Powershot D10, which boasts 12.1 megapixels, is shockproof up to 4ft, and is waterproof up to 33ft.  Perfect for another one of my snorkeling vacations!
Technically the G12 is a Christmas present, but as I do not have a functioning digital camera I’m on reprieve to use it already (anyway, the Philippine Christmas began in September).  I can’t wait to take it for a spin on my When In Manila assignments!
~ NC
P.S.
If you’re wondering why I’m so loyal to the Canon brand, it’s because I am a huge fan of their color fidelity, which I haven’t been able to find in my test runs of Sony, Pentax, and Nikon cameras.  Still, to each his/her own: I know many prosumers who express a preference for other brands.

P.P.S. (Update as of 10/29)
My baby has a name!  Due to the demands of my friends, my Canon Powershot G12 has been christened “Ed.”  For those who know me very well, its namesake is a no-brainer, but just to state the obvious, the new love of my techie life is named after my number one celebrity crush, Gossip Girl‘s Chuck Bass, the darkly debonair Ed Westwick.  ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

